The ASDD SIG is grateful for the leadership of our current co-chairs:

Tyler Higgs, Ph.D.

Dr. Tyler Higgs is a licensed psychologist at the Duke Autism Clinic, part of the Dept. of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences at Duke University Medical Center. She is primarily clinically-focused and specializes in providing assessments and support plans for neurodivergent children and adolescents. She received her PhD in Clinical Psychology from Virginia Tech in 2016 and obtained additional training at Nationwide Children’s Hospital (predoctoral internship) and Marcus Autism Center (postdoctoral fellowship).

Hannah Morton, PhD

Dr. Hannah Morton is a neurodivergent postdoctoral fellow at Oregon Health & Science University. Her research examines social acceptance and peer victimization of autistic and neurodivergent youth as well as the overlap and distinction of autism and ADHD. Her recent work focuses on the validity of outcome measurement in autism and ADHD as well as the inclusion of affirming language and autistic voices within the field.

Co-Chair Elect

Katherine Pickard, PhD

Dr. Katherine Pickard is an assistant professor and licensed psychologist in the Department of Pediatrics at Emory University and the Marcus Autism Center. Katherine’s research aims to develop and evaluate strategies that foster the adoption, implementation and sustained use of high-quality care within a variety of community systems, including Early Intervention and public-school systems. She is particularly interested in the role of families and autistic partners in shaping interventions as they are implemented within the community, and in how a system’s infrastructure impacts the reach and sustainability of translation efforts. Clinically, Katherine’s work focuses on naturalistic, developmental, behavioral interventions (known as NDBIs) for young autistic children and their caregivers, and cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) for autistic youth with co-occurring anxiety. 

Thanks to all of our previous SIG co-chairs for their leadership:

SIG Co-Chairs

2023 Cara Pugliese and Tyler Higgs

2022 Lindsey Burrell and Cara Pugliese

2021 Emily Kuschner and Lindsey Burrell

2020 Karen Bearss and Emily Kuschner

2019 Brenna Maddox and Karen Bearss

2018 Cy Nadler, Lauren Moskowitz, and Brenna Maddox

2017 Cy Nadler and Lauren Moskowitz

2016 Matt Lerner and Connor Kerns

2015 Matt Lerner and Connor Kerns

2013 – 2014 Susan White and Jeff Wood (Founding Co-Chairs)